My Japanese Food Adventures – Tsukiji Fish Market

Posted: November 10, 2013 in Japanese Food Adventures
Tags: , , ,

On our Japanese adventures there was one place that we definitely had to go to and that was the Tsukiji Fish Market. The biggest fish market in the world!! Thousands of kilograms of anything that was born and bred in the ocean finds its way to this market. One of the most popular things to do at this market as a tourist is to attend the Tuna Auction. This is apparently one of the craziest experiences you could have standing on the sidelines amongst rows and rows of frozen Tuna watching people yelling out prices and numbers. Thrilling to say the least however this fun experience see’s you waking up a little after midnight to get there by 4am so you can get in to watch the spectacle. Only 120 foreigners are allowed entry into the Tuna Auction due to difficulties in the past with them getting in the way or causing problems.

My friends were not too keen on waking up at the crack of dawn so I just decided I’d go on my own anyways. There were a few others from our hostel that were keen and I was pretty sure I’d run into them in the morning. I was so excited to be a part of this experience so I set my alarm and had mentally planned my actions for the next morning. The taxi ride there, the map to the entrance of the market and the cash I would need to buy as much sushi that I could get my hands on. Well it was a good idea at the time but unfortunately I slept right through my 4 alarms and woke up around 9am. haha. A bit of a fail. But hey atleast I managed a good sleep and I knew I would hear all about the auction from the others that actually managed to wake up for it.

We headed to the market a little later that day and couldn’t wait to smash some sushi in our faces. The market itself is huuuuuge! Rows and rows and blocks and blocks of vendors selling everything imaginable. Many things I didn’t even recognize. I was in awe at the amount of Tuna that I saw getting sliced and prepped for restaurant owners and wholesalers. It was amazing. I was so hungry. After we walked around for a good hour or so we went and found some delicious sushi and ate ourselves into a sushi coma. That experience was exactly what I had expected and wanted to have had in Japan. Sushi overload.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment